System settings

637 views 0

In the ThinPrint Hub’s web console under the menu item System, you will find the following options:

  • Security: Changing the Administrator password or hide the Hub from the Finder
  • Reboot and Reset: Reboot the operating system or delete all data and reset the ThinPrint Hub to its factory default settings
  • Backup and Restore: Run a data backup or restore previously backed up data onto the ThinPrint Hub
  • Firmware Update:  Update the ThinPrint Hub’s firmware to a new version
  • System Time: View the system time, assign the workstation’s system time, or specify a time server
  • Logging: Select which ThinPrint events are to be logged and how you can read the logs

Security

This menu is used for changing the Administrator password and to hide the Hub from the Finder.

Menu Function
Change password • initiates Administrator password change
• At the end of five minutes after a system reboot the ThinPrint Hub will change to the Read Only mode.
Make ThinPrint Hub invisible for the ThinPrint Hub Finder (formerly Hide ThinPrint Hub from Finder) At the end of five minutes after a system reboot the ThinPrint Hub will disappear from the Hub Finder.
Save saves the new password
Cancel cancels the operation

 initiate password change

enter the old and the new passwords

Reboot and Reset

This menu is used to reboot the operating system or to delete all data and reset the ThinPrint Hub to its factory default settings.

Menu Function
Reboot initiate a system reboot
Suggestion: Save the log data in a log file beforehand because they will be deleted by a system reboot (see Illus. Logging).
Factory Reset initiates a system reset to its factory default settings
Reboot execute the system reboot
Cancel cancels the reboot
Reset resets the ThinPrint Hub to its factory default settings
• Here, the software remains unchanged – particularly the current ver­sions of firmware and frontend. But all settings will be reset to their defaults – e. g. hostname and password.
Suggestion: Backup your data beforehand (see the next section).
Cancel cancels the reset

 select reboot or reset

 confirm the security prompt to reboot the device

 confirm the security prompt to delete all settings

Backup and Restore

This menu is used to run a data backup or to restore previously backed up data onto the ThinPrint Hub (Illus. below).

Menu Function
Restore • restores a .json type backup
• As a precaution, perform Backup before restoring.
• If you use the Automatically add printers to printer list option, then per­form a system reboot after restoring(see Illus. REBOOT AND RESET).
Backup saves the settings in the file Backup.json; if this file already exists, a new file name will be generated, e. g. Backup (1).json.

select backup or restore

Firmware Update

This menu is used to update the ThinPrint Hub’s firmware to a new version (following four Illus.). See also Downloading and installing a firmware update.

Menu Function
Update Firmware initiates a firmware update while loading the firmware from the local computer to the Hub
Download Firmware initiates a firmware update while loading the firmware to the Hub from:
https://tphubupdate.thinprint.com/1 with v1.3.9 and later
• https://tphubupdate.thinprint.com/2 with v2.0 and later
Note: An update to v1.3.9 is only possible with v1.2.25: https://www.thinprint.com/hubupdate
Open select the .tgz firmware update file (the numbers in the file name indi­cates both the new and the old version)
Download download the firmware from www.thinprint.com
Confirm starts the firmware update
Suggestion: Finally, perform a system reboot. To do so, disconnect the device from the power supply, wait for half a minute and then recon­nect it.
Cancel cancels the firmware update

Note! Perform a precautionary backup beforehand using the Backup option or with the PowerShell cmdlet Export-TPHubBackup.

 initiate firmware update

 select TGZ file (example)

 download the firmware from www.thinprint.com

confirm the security prompt for the firmware update

System Time

As system time the ThinPrint Hub uses UTC (Coordinated Universal Time). In this menu (Illus. below) you can

  • view the system time on the Hub
  • assign the workstation’s system time to the Hub
  • specify a time server to automatically provide the system time

The ThinPrint Hub connects to a time server automatically if it has access to the internet. If not, you should specify a company-internal one using ADDITIONAL TIME SERVER.

Menu Function
Additional time server specify an additional time server to automatically provide the system time, here: pool.ntp.org – preferably a company-internal one (in addition to the listed time servers)
ThinPrint Hub time  view the Hub’s system time
assign the system time of your workstation  assign your workstation’s system time to the Hub, in case the given time servers can’t be reached
Save saves the settings
Cancel cancels the operation

Logging

You can select which ThinPrint events are to be logged and how you can read the logs (Following Illus.):

Menu Function
Log level Errors and print job information (default) only errors and information about executed print jobs will be logged (default setting)
Log level Errors only
Log level All details All details will be logged; this results in the largest volume of data.
Syslog server Logs can be sent to a remote syslog server using TCP or UDP. Example (for Kiwi Syslog Server):
tcp://192.168.149.222:1468
To disable syslog forwarding, leave this field empty.
Show Logs shows the messages stored locally in the hub, with date and time
Download Logs writes all messages stored locally in the hub to a .log file
Delete All Logs • manually delete all messages stored locally in the hub
• takes place automatically when the system is rebooted or after three days
Save saves the settings
Cancel cancels the operation

Note! See also How is the detailed logging done? in the Troubleshooting sec­tion.

configuring ThinPrint logging (addressing example for Kiwi Syslog Server)

 

Previous Page
Next Page

Was this helpful?